The sadness comes

Today I packed all my gear into the little Skoda and headed up to my parents place in Finnsnes. And as I turned out of the parking lot and started to put Henningsvær behind me, a sadness came over me.

I have met some truly wonderful people in Lofoten. Chance encounters far, far away from home, strong connections, possibly life changing stuff. I hope some of them will stop by and read this, since I don’t know that I expressed my appreciation during the week. Thanks for the support, laughs and belays.

And Mona, if you read this, I think the gold nut I borrowed is on the black and white rack. Sorry I forgot to get it back to you.

Climbing in Lofoten is unlike anything I have seen before. At home in Oslo I am a cragrat, crushing between the trees. In Lofoten I was exposed to climbing on a completely different level. It felt like I could see all the way to the ends of the ocean from the top of the routes we did. And we climbed in strong winds and pounding rains. Weather, rock, fairytale landscapes and the pure joy of climbing. And so many laughs.

So yeah, leaving Lofoten behind sparked a deep sadness in me. I still feel it as I write this. I think I have fallen in love.

0 Responses to “The sadness comes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment